Indian Lingo

hotel = restaurant

note = dollar/rupee bill

take-away = take-out

rate = price

photostat = photocopy (I somehow thought it meant passport, like passport photo or something)

sister = nurse

canteen = cafeteria

mobile = cell phone

I had a hard time getting by the language barrier. Even with the doctors who spoke English at the hospital, the thick Indian accent was a heavy burden to the ears. At times, I felt myself craning my neck, thinking it would help me comprehend and communicate. Most times, I nodded my head in utter agreement, not really knowing what I was responding to.

Leave a Reply

