Your Precious Phone

Big news came out today courtesy of the World Health Organization (WHO):  cell phone use may lead to brain cancer.

All this is obviously said with caution. Studies like these are hard to conduct, especially since 1) cell phone technology is a relatively modern development and 2) brain cancer can take decades to develop. There’s little evidence currently to bolster this proposition. A recent research study did show cell phone use contributing to increased metabolism in the brain, on that particular side, opening up possibilities for more investigation.

However, I believe, without any scientific evidence, that cell phone use should be kept at a minimum. How many times have I heard my mom prophecy “Do not put that cell phone to your ear! It’s going to cause brain cancer and that’s scary stuff!”? She’s a typical Asian mom reading Asian newspapers with very Asian predictions. But the points make sense… Cell phones utilize some low-frequency electromagnetic energy to allow the ease of communication. There has to be some catch to the godsend piece of a gadget, and that’s called your health.

Dude, we don’t need long-term studies to prove anything. Anyone with a functional brain should know it’s just not natural to put high energy waves against an open hole through your head called the ear. Little spiders and bugs have been curious enough to crawl into people’s ears, what makes anyone think we’re not vulnerable to electromagnetic radiation, invisible rays, entering the inner corners of our skulls?

And here’s a profile of the kinds of people super-glued to their phones these days: Nowadays, bratty kids, slutty high school girls and jocky-cocky boys are parading Blackberries and iPhones. They cannot stop texting and they certainly do not need that kind of luxury. Instead, they are spoiled brats who are used to getting everything they want, when they want. I didn’t get my first flip-phone until the latter part of high school. Even later on, I never cared for my cell phone. When I got a nice Chocolate phone, it was because I deserved it. Even then, I took good care of my phone for 4+ years, before I gave in to an Android Smartphone. I’m a medical student-going-to-be-a-busy-doctor, so it’s more necessary now I get a high-tech phone. But kids with Androids and iPhones? What do they know more than searching up Justin Bieber ringtones and mass texting in Engrish jibberish?

I’m not a big fan of using cell phones; they give me headaches. I’m not a preacher, but I take a few personal precautions:

1) Do not put cell phones near the body – I had a classmate back in high school who’s father passed away from lung cancer. He wasn’t a smoker, but doctors suggested it was probably the cell phone in his breast pocket that had some influence. Again, no clear-cut evidence was shown, only suggested. That particular incident has stuck with me since, and I continue to warn my dad about putting his cell phone in his pockets.

2) Text, Text, Text:  It’s discrete, it’s affordable, it’s convenient, it’s fun. You can do it secretly in class between the legs. You can exercise those phalanges. You can be a completely incoherent and quick texter, creating your own language, like myself. You can distract yourself from a boring Foundations lecture by conversing with your neighbor or close friend, otherwise too far or too focused. I like to use my Internet service, whether it’s sending emails efficiently and quickly, chatting on GChat, or playing with applications. Besides, I am sharp-tuning my finger muscles and typing skills. I have to prepare these hands for surgery and procedures.

3) Use headphones or the speaker function: Rarely do I put the cell phone against my auditory meatus. If I do, it’s a quick conversation lasting only 1 minute. Most of the time, I use headphones or the speakers for simplicity. Sometimes, I even blast the call volume and talk to my phone.

The point of this post? I don’t need scientists or an international agency to warn me about the dangers of pretty, savvy cell phones with multifaceted functions and touch-screen features. My mom without a PhD has  already spoon-feeding me cautionary tales about technology’s pros and cons. Take care of those ears!

http://thechart.blogs.cnn.com/2011/05/31/6-tips-for-minimizing-cell-phone-radiation/?hpt=hp_t2

Leave a Reply

