Songs About the Heart

“We are humans, young and old, who share a common bond of love and humanity that is rooted in the heart.  Traditional Chinese symbolizes this enduring concept that connects such selfless feelings to the physical human heart:  “xin” (心) represents the heart and occupies the center of the character for love, “ai” (愛).  Likewise, a doctor symbolizes this unique blend of human character and devotion, to heal and treat patients from the inside out.”

I have learned so much about the human body that it’s almost unfathomable and amazing. I can’t help but make connections with everyday life. Like right now, as I’m jamming to my iTunes DJ. I was shuffling through my multifaceted music collection and tallied how many songs from around the world related back to the heart and its core meaning – love.  Here is a compilation of my favorite songs that have some connection with “heart” and “love,” from sappy love ballads to Asian hits and Korean stuff I can’t understand. These are only song titles; if you listen to lyrics, the list will include all my 2000+ songs and much more.

– Celine Dion: “My Heart Will Go On,” from Titanic, my all-time favorite movie

– Celine Dion:  “Pour Que Tu M’Aimes Encore” – “Because You Loved Me” – “To Love You More

– Kylie Minogue: “Love At First Sight”

– Mariah Carey: “Love Takes Time” – “Dreamlover” – “Heartbreaker

– Britney Spears:  “From the Bottom of My Broken Heart

– Madonna: “Open Your Heart

– Lady Gaga: “Love Game”

– Willa Ford: “Haunted Heart

– Maroon 5: “This Love” (and G-Dragon’s Korean version)

– Savage Garden – “I Knew I Loved You”

– Backstreet Boys – “Quit Playing Games (With My Heart)” – “As Long As You Love Me” – “I’ll Never Break Your Heart“- “The Shape of My Heart”  … Yes, I’m still swooning to timeless 90’s boy bands

Forever BSB

– ‘N Sync:  “Tearin’ Up My Heart

– ‘N Sync & Gloria Estefan: “Music of My Heart

– Joey McIntyre: “I Love You Came Too Late”

– Rob Thomas: “This is How a Heart Breaks

– BBMak: “Out of My Heart (Into Your Head)” (I like Euro-pop *.*)

– Bon Jovi: “You Give Love a Bad Name”

– Daniel Powter: “Love You Lately”

– Air Supply: “All Out of Love” (Wow, this is ancient…)

– 2Pac: “California Love,” a random, but catchy rap song

– Josh Groban: “You Are Loved (Don’t Give Up),” something a little hopeful

– Elton John: “Can You Feel the Love Tonight,” from my favorite Disney movie The Lion King

– Phil Collins: “You’ll Be in My Heart

– Jay Chou 周杰倫 – “簡單愛 Simple Love” – “ Heart’s Rain

– Lee Hom 王力宏 – “放開你的心 Release Your Heart” – “心中的日月 Sun & Moon In My Heart” – “心跳 Heartbeat

– Lee Hom 王力宏 & 盧巧音 Candy Lo “好心分手 Good Heart Break Up” (a nice Mando-Canto duet mix)

– Lee Hom 王力宏 & Selina – “你是我心內的一首歌 You Are the Song in My Heart

– Fahrenheit 飛輪海 – “心理有數” (lit. Your Heart Knows)

– Emil Chau 周華健 – “愛相隨 Love Follows”

– Richie Ren 任賢齊 – “心太軟 Soft Heart

– Teresa Teng 鄧麗君 – “月亮代表我的心 Moon Represents My Heart,” a classic Taiwanese song w/many variations

– Jackie Chan 陳龍/Kim Hee-Seon – “Endless Love,” from The Myth 神話 (2005)

– Phil Chang 張宇 – “用心良苦 Well-Intentioned

– Jacky Cheung 張學友 – “心碎了無痕

– David Tao 陶喆 – “就是爱你 Only Love You” – “愛很簡單 Love is Really Simple”

– Wilber Pan 潘瑋柏 – “不得不愛 Gotta Love”

– JJ Lin 林俊傑 – “只對你說 Sarang Heyo” (the Korean saying “Sarang Heyo” = I Love You)

– Vanness Wu 吳建豪 – “Listen To Your Heart

– Jolin Tsai 蔡依林 – “Love Love Love” — “愛無赦 Bravo Lover”

– Ding Dang 丁噹 – “我愛他 I Love Him,” from Taiwanese drama 下一站, 幸福 Autumn’s Concerto (2009)

– 元若蓝 Yuan Ruo Lan & 吴忠明 Wu Zhong Ming – “心願便利貼 Sticky Note Wish,” from Taiwanese drama 命中注定我愛你 Fated to Love You (2008)

– Super Junior 슈퍼주니어- “너같은사람 또 없어 No Other,” the MV has 10 hot Korean guys singing, dancing, and expressing their heart. I noticed how each of them get creative with their artful gestures of love, with the fancy red heart and baby blue aura giving the video and song a sweet feel.

– 2pm – “Heartbeat” (I have a whole blog on this up next…)

– G-Dragon – “Heartbreaker” (Ah yes, another one)

– CNBlue 씨엔블루– “Love”

– SS501 – “Love Like This” – “Making a Lover”

– DBSK 東方神起 – “Love in the Ice” (such a passionate song by 5 sexy Korean guys)

– XIAH Junsu 김준수– “君がいれば ~Beautiful Love~” (Junsu with a solo Japanese album post DBSK-breakup; now back in JYJ, yay!)

– JY Park – “No Love No More,” in the MV, after a double suicide, JYP lives it up in hell; he reminds me of a dancing Hugh Heffner for some reason…

– A’ST1 에이스타일 – “아쉬운 마음인 Yearning Heart,” from Boys Over Flowers (2009)

– Shin Seung Hoon 신승훈 (申昇勳) – “Love of Iris,” from Iris (2009)

– SeeYa 씨야 – “ 슴이 뭉클 My Heart is Moved,” from Personal Taste (2010)

– Utada Hikaru – “Prisoner of Love,” from Japanese drama Last Friends

– Arashi 嵐  – “One Love,” from Japanese drama Hana Yori Dango 花より男子 (2005)

Leave a Reply

