20 Most Played on iTunes

I’ve turned up my iTunes DJ and mixed up some favorite Asian and American music. I realized how much I missed bygone days, like back in the 90s (and 80s) when:

Backstreet Boys and ‘N Sync rocked girls’ lockers and bedrooms

Backstreet Boys were still young hearthrobs; now they’re just old, but the talent’s still there

‘N Sync before Justin and JC went solo and changed the whole dynamics; the other 3 were just… there

Britney Spears was my pop idol, before she made a big “Oops” and married a hobo dancer, popped out a few babies, picked up a bad smoking/drinking habit, and copied Voldemort’s hair-do

Christina Aguilera wore clothes

Mariah Carey broke wine glasses with her love ballads and not yet a cougar

Madonna could pull off skimpy outfits and didn’t have such manly biceps brachii

Jessica Simpson had a stable relationship and wasn’t so desperate in life

LFO still had a living Rich Cronin looking like an Abercrombie model

Ricky Martin didn’t come out of the closet and had babies

Rob Thomas was still part of Matchbox 20, even when I thought he was solo already

Savage Garden still existed… I still have a weakness for “Truly Madly Deeply” and “I Knew I Loved You”

Spice Girls ruled my 4th grade treasure chest: stickers, lollipops, books, magazines, posters, dolls, every merchandise that was out to drain my dad’s wallet

Michael Jackson… He’s still a timeless sensation… RIP

And now? I’ve added Katy Perry and Lady Gaga to my “Love-it” list. I’m really hooked on Katy Perry’s “California Gurls,” “Teenage Dream,” and “Hot n’ Cold.” And Lady Gaga? I love “Bad Romance,” “Just Dance,” “Love Game,” “Telephone,” and “Alejandro.”

My gym jams and study music are still predominantly C-pop and K-pop: DBSK 東方神起, SNSD 少女時代, Super Junior, 2PM, 태양 Taeyang, 빅뱅 Big Bang, SS501, Jay Chou, JJ Lin, Lee Hom, etc… I like how K-pop is funky, upbeat; basically, I like rap, hip-hop and R&B by Asian musicians, because there’s no blasphemy, no sexualization, no violence, just pure talent and incredible dancing! I like C-pop, mainly from Taiwan, because 1) I can understand it, 2) I can boost my Mandarin proficiency, and 3) sappy love songs help me study. Here’s my Top 25 playlist since it came into existence 3 years ago:

  1. 童 話 Fairy Tale – 光良 (Michael Wong) –> 466X
  2. 내 머리가 나빠서 Nae Moriga Nabbaso (Because I’m Stupid)- SS501 –> 455X
  3. Stand By Me – 샤이니 SHINee –> 324X
  4. 約 定  Yue Ding – 光良 (Michael Wong) –> 316X
  5. 아쉬운 마음인 걸 Yearning Heart – 에이스타일 A’ST1 –> 311X
  6. 只對你有感覺 Only Have Feelings For You – 飛輪海 Fahrenheit & Hebe –> 309X
  7. 說愛你 Say I Love You – 蔡依林 Jolin Tsai –> 293X
  8. 不得不愛 Gotta Love – 潘瑋柏 Wilber Pan ft. 弦子 XianZi –> 286X
  9. 就是爱你 Only Love You – 陶喆 David Tao –> 278X
  10. 聽媽媽的話 Listen to Mother’s Words – 周杰倫 Jay Chou –> 271X
  11. 霍元甲  Huo Yuan Jia – 周杰倫 Jay Chou –> 264X
  12. 日不落 Sun Will Never Set – 蔡依林 Jolin Tsai –> 263X
  13. 半糖主义 Half-Sugarism – S.H.E. –> 260X
  14. Love Love Love – 蔡依林 Jolin Tsai –> 260X
  15. 你和我 You and Me – 王力宏 Lee Hom –> 258X
  16. One More Time – 나무자전거 Namu Jajeongeo –> 251X
  17. 給我一首歌的時間 Give Me a Song’s Time – 周杰倫 Jay Chou –> 251X
  18. 放開你的心 Let Go of Your Heart – 王力宏 Lee Hom –> 250X
  19. 玩酷 Play It Cool – 潘瑋柏 Wilber Pan –> 248X
  20. 주문-Mirotic – DBSK –> 247X

You get the idea… It looks like chicken scratches above. I’m a super-Asian. Maybe there will be an eventual avalanche on this Top 20 list, a great disaster waiting to happen.

Leave a Reply

