Love Beethoven, Love Lee Hom

Whoa, Lee Hom looks so fresh and young back in the 1990s, when he was just a budding musician in Taiwan. I found this song randomly in my iTunes shuffle, and fell in love with it. It’s called “情敵貝多芬” or “Love Rival Beethoven,” by 王力宏 Wang Lee Hom. Even though he’s getting old and changing up his music style, I still have great respect for his immense talent and sexy charm.

Oh, fun fact… I think his infamous ex-girlfriend is the lucky lady in the video, back in happier days. Apparently, they broke up and she later married another man, to Lee Hom’s sadness. Hence, he wrote a song, “Forever Love,” for his 2005 album 心中的日月 Shangri-La.

Now that I’ve taken a study break to watch some of these old favorites, what is up with these guys lamenting bygone love?? And then performing passionately at the wedding and watching the girl marry off to another man? I’ve noticed a common, depressing theme among popular Asian songs:  Taeyang’s “Wedding Dress” and DBSK’s “どうして君を好きになってしまったんだろう (Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou)” (Uh, I think it translates to “Why Did I Fall in Love With You?”)…

Anyway, the gist of all this, I love their voices, especially Lee Hom’s. I have not listened to his recent music; I much prefer his older melodies. Nowadays, I enjoy more Korean singers, like Taeyang and the now disbanded DBSK.  I take study breaks to watch their awesome dances and performances, even if I cannot understand much Korean. Perfect study music though, to help me stay semi-awake for my killer midterms.

Leave a Reply

