Dashing Down the Stage

My current eye candy?  Korean guys.  Why?  Because they are dashing dancers.  They have the looks, the steam, the unity, the sex appeal, the ever evolving style, and the make-you-melt moves.

Like every other teenage girl in America, I used to be infatuated with pop boy bands like ‘N Sync, Backstreet Boys, ‘N Sync.  I still fall back in time once in a while to remember my girlhood reverie.  I remember the magazine pictures I clipped with my school friends, the love we professed for our favorite members, the giggles we shared while watching television shows, and the letters we wrote to celebrities. Now, here are a few old favorites by my top boy bands.  *Note the fashion, choreography, and the overall performance.* I used to watch “Making the Video” for these songs.

Now, I’ve become less of a twinkie and more of a FOB in recent years.  My recent muses are Korean pop bands that have fantastic talent and skills on the dance floor.  Some personal favorites include DBSK/TVXQ 東方神起, Super Junior 슈퍼주니어, 빅뱅 Big Bang, SS501, SNSD 少女時代, and Wonder Girls, for now.  I’m still exploring and dabbling around.  In Korea, these top groups are created by big record companies/talent agencies (ex. JYP created the Wonder Girls, SM Entertainment formed Super Junior).  Young kids/adolescents are recruited and continuously trained over the years in dance, vocals, and languages, so by the time they debut, they’re still young and hip and money-making machines.  Think of it as Korea’s recipe for success, on the American scale:  take the glam and talents from American Idol, add a dab of Lou Pearlman’s eye from “Making the Band,” and finish off with a big push from the typical stage mom.

These Korean popstars never fail to amaze me with their multi-lingual tongues, upbeat music, slick and stylish looks, and dazzling dance moves.  Because they can sing in Korean, Japanese, Mandarin, and English they attract a diverse audience.  When was the last time you heard an American Idol hopeful sing Jacky Cheung’s classic “Kiss Goodbye” or Lady Gaga belt out Andrea Boccelli’s “Con Partiro”?  That’s what I would call talent and passion for music.

This is SNSD 少女時代 (Girl’s Generation) singing “Oh!”… It’s a bit cutesy and girly, but it’s catchy.

This is DBSK/TVXQ… singing, rather passionately, the song “Love On Ice.”

Now, this is DBSK making all the right moves in all the right ways in their famous “Mirotic 주문.”  They really put their whole body and energy into every move. 

This is a live version.  Since I do not have time to go to Korea to see them in concert, Youtube gives me the same pleasure right from home. OMG, the DBSK guys dance and maneuver around so well, they are practically breathless.  They’ve left me melting. 

And finally, Super Junior 슈퍼주니어!!!  They are HUGE in East Asia.  This is their famous song “Sorry Sorry,” so next time you apologize to someone, think of Super Junior.  The choreography is synced so well.  They remind me of those migratory birds that fly in perfect triangles.  You would think having 13 hot dudes on stage is mayhem, but no no, it’s quite the spectacle.  Super Junior makes dancing in professional suits look so slick; who knew that dancing in professional suits could be executed so well?  And the vocals! Each member’s voice is unique, but the vocals are choreographed with the music and dance moves.  Hot!

This is Super Junior’s latest release, “Bonamana.” They got makeovers and a new style.  I’m not so hot on the voice enhancements and the music overshadowing their sexy voices, but I love them regardless.  Here, I’m hooked to the “speed skater” move and the chorus’ tribal tune signaling an Amazon jungle adventure.  Note the jumps, bounces, and lean-backs… they look fun.  Enjoy!  

To conclude, ❤ Asian music >>>>>>> American music any day.  Just my 2 cents.

2 thoughts on “Dashing Down the Stage

  1. *lol* You totally sound like me! Once upon a time, I had posters of the Backstreet Boys up…and now, it’s Big Bang, even though I am waaaaay to old to be drooling over boy bands, I don’t care, the Korean ones are just to awesome for words!

    • haha, you wouldn’t believe the huge makeover i did for my dorm room that sophomore year. I freaked out my roommate. Asian popstars rock my world. Enough said.

Leave a Reply

